New to Eclipse and OnSemi and want to debug to UART

Hi
I have not used Eclipse before.
I can successfully build and debug the ‘ble_peripheral_server_bond’ example.
To enable PRINT() to go out via uart I have to change the value of OUTPUT_INTERFACE in printf.h

That printf.h is NOT a local file so changing it will affect all my builds.

In printf.h I see …
#ifndef OUTPUT_INTERFACE
#define OUTPUT_INTERFACE OUTPUT_DISABLED
#endif

And in other places I came across the phrase 'change OUTPUT_INTERFACe in project settings

Given I have no prior experience of Eclipse, how do I view ‘project settings’?

Look forward to hearing from you and thank you in advance

Solved!

Right click the project->Protperties->Tool Setings-> C Compiler -> Preprocessor and the add

OUTPUT_INTERFACE=OUTPUT_UART

1 Like

Hi,

Thank you for making useful thread on our Community Forum. If you have any further questions please feel free to contact us.

I have used BLE SDKs from many. Nordic, Dialog Semi, CSR, Silabs to name a few.

The OnSemi startup guide is so far the best I have some across in terms of detail.

To make it perfect, in the relevant section in debugging where PRINT macro is mentioned it does say that the #define value needs to be changed to enable it. I struggled because I have used Eclipse for the first time.
Hopefully, you will add the following to the guide …

Right click the project->Protperties->Tool Setings-> C Compiler -> Preprocessor and the add
OUTPUT_INTERFACE=OUTPUT_UART

1 Like

Hi,

Thank you for your post. Surely, we will discuss your suggestion within the organization.

Thank you for using our Community Forum.

Hi @mtunwired

Please note that in our latest SDK 3.5 release was included instructions on how to add Printf Debug Capabilities according your suggestions. Please refer to section 7.1.1 in RSL10_getting_started_guide.pdf available in RSL10 Documentation Package

Thank you for using our Community Forum.