Change advertisement data dynamically while using freeRTOS

Hi,
My situation:
I am using the freertos_ble_peripheral_server_bond example. The aim is to be able to maintain one ble connection while advertising three different advertisement data sets. To achive this, I would like to change the advertisement data dynamically, on the fly. I used struct gapm_update_advertise_data_cmd updateAdvCmd and set the new data with GAPM_AddAdvData() , the same way it is done in the example with struct gapm_start_advertise_cmd advertiseCmd and GAPM_AddAdvData() . But the advertisement data is not updated, I am using a BLE sniffer to check the advertisement data.

Do I need to set any flag or call a function to notify the BLE stack that new advertisement data is available?
Is it even possible to change the advertisement data on the fly with this example, if not why?

I am new to FreeRTOS, is it possible to have more than one BLE_thread?

Any helpful comment would be highly appreciated!
Thanks

Hi stzi,

You need to send the GAPM_UPDATE_ADVERTISE_DATA_CMD command to the BLE stack to update the advertising data without interrupting the advertising operation.
Looking at the ble_gap.h header there seems to be no wrapper function for this specific command.
You can create one, something like this:

void GAPM_UpdateAdvertiseDataCmd(const struct gapm_update_advertise_data_cmd *updated_adv_data)
{
    // REQUIRE(device_is_advertising);

struct gapm_update_advertise_data_cmd *cmd;

cmd = KE_MSG_ALLOC(GAPM_UPDATE_ADVERTISE_DATA_CMD, TASK_GAPM, TASK_APP,
        gapm_update_advertise_data_cmd);

memcpy(cmd, updated_adv_data, sizeof(struct gapm_update_advertise_data_cmd));

ke_msg_send(cmd);
}

See the Gap Interface Specification document in the CMSIS-Pack for details of the command.

I am not exactly sure if the BLE stack and the functions that are used to interact with it are thread safe.